Pre-Conference Day - July 20, 2021

Workshop A                                                                                       

10- 12pm EDT | 7-9am PDT

T-Cell and Check-Point Inhibitor Therapy to Target Lytic and Latent EBV

 

Lytic and Latent: Targeting the Two Faces of EBV

  • Review preclinical humanized mouse models for studying a human-specific pathogen
  • Preclinical experience using a lytic antigen to target CAR-T cells against EBV
  • Address check-point inhibitors and EBV's immune escape
  • Appreciate the challenges of targeting EBV Type II latency tumors versus Type III latency
  • Understand how lessons learned from EBV-specific T-cells are being used to target other viruses such as HIV, HPV and SARS-CoV-2

Workshop Leaders:

Renata Stripecke

Renata Stripecke
Professor & Head of Laboratory
Hannover Medical School

Catherine Bollard

Catherine Bollard
Director, Center for Cancer & Immunology Children’s
National Medical
Center

Workshop A                                                                                                     

1-3pm EDT | 10-12pm PDT

Bridging the Gap from Preclinical Models to Clinic for Cell Therapies for Infectious Disease

 

  • Discuss the current and best-in-class in vitro and in vivo models for COVID-19
  • Outline the need for innate immunity in fighting COVID-19, reviewing mechanistic studies of NK based therapy in eliminating infected cells and coordinating with adaptive immunity to elicit an effective antiviral response
  • Review innovation and trends in the development and approval of antiviral medicines for the  treatment of COVID-19

Workshop Leaders:

Xiaokui Zhang

Xiaokui Zhang
Chief Scientific
Officer
Celularity

Corey Casper

Corey Casper
Chief Executive Officer
Infectious
Disease Research Institute